Skip to content

More Than Food and Drink

1 November, 2011

Greetings, thanks for stopping by The Countdown to see what’s new on the menu…

Today we have some articles, once more pointing the finger at atrocities committed by Big Corp. – adulterating REAL food and replacing it with ‘crap’ derived in a lab. Keep in mind, some of this isn’t new news but who knew, ya’ know?

First on the menu today…WOULD YOU LIKE A ‘BITE’ TO EAT?
(Gotta love the reporter’s embracing viewpoint as well…there’s nothing like trying to sway the reader’s opinion…)

Do you fancy a jelly baby made from human DNA?

We may not have the appetite for human-derived gelatin but it has its health benefits, says Andrew Marszal.

By Andrew Marszal

7:30AM BST 06 Sep 2011

Reports last week that researchers could be just six months away from producing the world’s first artificial meat, using thousands of stem cells bred in a laboratory, sent a wave of fascination around the world. Yet there is an even more ghoulish prospect ahead: the idea of eating artificial food made from humans.

This may sound like science fiction, yet a new technique for making gelatin from human DNA is attracting “increasing interest from research and industrial circles”, according to a new study by scientists from the Beijing University of Chemical Technology. The paper, published recently in the Journal of Agriculture and Food Chemistry, revealed that successful experiments had been carried out in which human genes were inserted into a strain of yeast to “grow” large amounts of recombinant (genetically engineered) human gelatin.
[MORE ARTICLE FOUND HERE]

…So…they’re saying cannibalism is okay? VOMIT! This is ONE thing God HATES!

…ok so, no food…how about a ‘soft drink’? They’re safe right?

Pepsi shareholders demand company stop using aborted fetal cell lines in flavor research

by John-Henry Westen

Tue Oct 25, 2011 11:03 EST
Tags: abortion, pepsi, senomyx

LARGO, FL, October 25, 2011 (LifeSiteNews.com) – The pro-life organization Children of God for Life announced today the filing of a shareholder resolution with the Securities and Exchange Commission and PepsiCo, protesting the use of aborted a fetal cell line for the research and development of flavor enhancers for their beverages.

In August 2010, PepsiCo entered into a 4-year agreement with Senomyx for the development of artificial high-potency sweeteners for PepsiCo beverages.  Under the contract, PepsiCo is paying $30 million to Senomyx for the research and future royalties on PepsiCo products sold using Senomyx technology.

When the pro-life group wrote both companies requesting they use one of several non-objectionable, viable cell lines listed in their patents, Senomyx did not respond.  PepsiCo did reply however, saying that this research, using cell lines derived from aborted babies, would produce “great tasting, lower-calorie beverages.
[MORE ARTICLE FOUND HERE]

Ugh! What happened to real food?  We think it has been quietly sequestered away underground…mainly for those in the ‘know’, ya’ know?

Wow! Somehow I’m not as hungry as I was and I think I’ll make my own drinks from now on…after this news, which is worse; a dinner and a  homebrew or two, made from materials you grew and/or made, or buying something deemed ‘safe’ by Big Pharma, Big Agro, Big Food and Big Gov?

“Meow” said the cat, as it escaped from the bag…treburn’s fault!

CHeers! (with our homebrews, of course!)

20 Comments leave one →
  1. podziękowania ślubne Kielce permalink
    19 February, 2015 06:44

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped me.

    Like

  2. Anonymous permalink
    22 December, 2014 04:28

    A motivating discussion is worth comment. I do think that you
    need to write more on this subject matter, it may not
    be a taboo subject but generally people don’t talk about these subjects.
    To the next! All the best!!

    Like

  3. Anonymous permalink
    20 December, 2014 20:31

    I have been surfing on-line greater than three hours nowadays,
    yet I never found any interesting article like yours.

    It’s lovely value enough for me. In my opinion, if all
    website owners and bloggers made excellent content material
    as you did, the net shall be much more useful than ever before.

    Like

    • 21 December, 2014 12:51

      Thanks and praise God – glad you enjoyed!
      CHeers!

      Like

  4. Anonymous permalink
    18 December, 2014 15:53

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or copyright violation? My website
    has a lot of unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of
    it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any methods to help
    stop content from being stolen? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    Like

    • 21 December, 2014 12:49

      You could use a watermark on your unique content…it can be very difficult in video format. To avoid plagorism or copyright violations, ALWAYS link to original author…like we did for research papers way back in school. Hope this helps…
      CHeers!

      Like

  5. Anonymous permalink
    15 December, 2014 15:47

    Appreciation to my father who shared with me
    on the topic of this weblog, this weblog is really remarkable.

    Like

  6. Anonymous permalink
    12 December, 2014 17:54

    Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the easiest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people consider worries that they just do not know about.
    You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also
    defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people could take
    a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

    Like

  7. 12 December, 2014 16:36

    It’s a pity you don’t have a donate button! I’d most certainly donate to this brilliant blog!
    I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my Google
    account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about
    this site with my Facebook group. Chat soon!

    Like

    • 17 December, 2014 13:02

      We actually do have a donate button, but it’s located on the donate page. There will be a link for Paypal donations. Thanks for comment.

      Like

  8. aquarium siphon small permalink
    11 December, 2014 08:37

    Spot on with this write-up, I truly believe this amazing site needs much more attention. I’ll probably be back
    again to read through more, thanks for the information!

    Like

  9. Anonymous permalink
    7 December, 2014 16:21

    I blog quite often and I truly thank you for
    your information. The article has truly peaked my interest.

    I will book mark your blog and keep checking for
    new information about once a week. I opted in for your RSS feed as well.

    Like

  10. Anonymous permalink
    7 December, 2014 02:05

    I have been browsing on-line more than 3 hours today, but I by no means discovered any fascinating article like yours.

    It is beautiful worth enough for me. Personally, if all site
    owners and bloggers made good content material as
    you probably did, the internet will probably be much more helpful than ever
    before.

    Like

  11. Anonymous permalink
    29 November, 2014 11:19

    I was pretty pleased to find this website. I need to to thank you
    for your time just for this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every little bit of it and i also have you
    saved as a favorite to check out new information in your site.

    Like

  12. Anonymous permalink
    13 November, 2014 22:25

    Hi I am so glad I found your web site, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Aol for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say thanks
    a lot for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but
    I have bookmarked it and also included your RSS feeds, so when I
    have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the
    great work.

    Like

  13. Anonymous permalink
    5 November, 2014 09:07

    Thanks for finally talking about >More Than Food and Drink | The
    Countdown <Liked it!

    Like

  14. 24 October, 2014 12:50

    Hi! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept chatting about this.

    I will forward this post to him. Fairly certain he will have a good read.

    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  15. Cory Maria permalink
    9 November, 2011 18:11

    Keep up the quality posts

    Like

  16. 8 November, 2011 18:17

    Howdy! I do know this is kinda off subject but I’d figured I’d ask. Would you be keen on exchanging hyperlinks or even visitor authoring a web site post or vice-versa? My web page covers many the exact same topics as yours and I feel we could tremendously take advantage of each other. If you might be interested really feel totally free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Fantastic blog from the way!

    Like

  17. Anonymous permalink
    8 November, 2011 03:01

    Hello there, I found your website by means of Google even as searching for a comparable matter, your site got here up, it appears to be like great. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Like

Leave a Reply

