Skip to content

Wisdom & Understanding vs. The Adulteress – Proverbs 7

7 July, 2010

Don’t ask me why, b/c I don’t know. I just know that the Lord wanted me to post Proverbs every day ’till full circle. I hope someone is needing this meal today…

Proverbs 7:

Warning Against the Adulteress

1 My son, keep my words and store up my commands within you.

2 Keep my commands and you will live; guard my teachings as the apple of your eye.

3 Bind them on your fingers; write them on the tablet of your heart.

4 Say to wisdom, “You are my sister,” and call understanding your kinsman;

5 they will keep you from the adulteress from the wayward wife with her seductive words.

6 At the window of my house I looked out through the lattice.

7 I saw among the simple, I noticed among the young men, a youth who lacked judgment.

8 He was going down the street near her corner, walking along in the direction of her house

9 at twilight, as the day was fading, as the dark of night set in.

10 Then out came a woman to meet him, dressed like a prostitute and with crafty intent.

11 (She is loud and defiant, her feet never stay at home;

12 now in the street, now in the squares, at every corner she lurks.)

13 She took hold of him and kissed him and with a brazen face she said:

14 “I have fellowship offerings [a] at home; today I fulfilled my vows.

15 So I came out to meet you; I looked for you and have found you!

16 I have covered my bed with colored linens from Egypt.

17 I have perfumed my bed with myrrh, aloes and cinnamon.

18 Come, let’s drink deep of love till morning; let’s enjoy ourselves with love!

19 My husband is not at home; he has gone on a long journey.

20 He took his purse filled with money and will not be home till full moon.”

21 With persuasive words she led him astray; she seduced him with her smooth talk.

22 All at once he followed her like an ox going to the slaughter, like a deer [b] stepping into a noose [c]

23 till an arrow pierces his liver, like a bird darting into a snare, little knowing it will cost him his life.

24 Now then, my sons, listen to me; pay attention to what I say.

25 Do not let your heart turn to her ways or stray into her paths.

26 Many are the victims she has brought down; her slain are a mighty throng.

27 Her house is a highway to the grave, [d] leading down to the chambers of death.

Hope this helped…I learn something new every time I read 🙂

Cheers!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 12 July, 2010 01:04

    This proverb is a parable, the harlot is the people called by God’s name. In the old testament God called Israel a harlot. 6 major times the people called by his name went and chased after the world they so loved. Six major times, and several minor times in the book of Judges, God raised up a beast kingdom to chasten this harlot. What has been done shall be done there is no new thing under the sun. Today the people called by God’s name (taking His name in vain) are loosely called the “church”
    7 I saw among the simple, I noticed among the young men, a youth who lacked judgment.
    8 He was going down the street near her corner, walking along in the direction of her house
    On nearly every street corner we can find a church, but before we discern who is and not ordained of God, that is why we are young in the Lord and lack judgment we choose a church not knowing who is and is not ordained of God. In order to fill the seats the seeker friendly church plays to the desires of the undiscerning.
    10 Then out came a woman to meet him, dressed like a prostitute and with crafty intent.
    39 Thus were they defiled with their works, And played the harlot in their doings. 40 Therefore was the wrath of Jehovah kindled against his people, And he abhorred his inheritance.Psalms 106:39-40 (ASV)
    11 And many false prophets shall arise, and shall lead many astray Matt 24:11
    19 My husband is not at home; he has gone on a long journey.
    14 For the kingdom of heaven is as a man travelling into a far country, Matt 25:14
    20 He took his purse filled with money and will not be home till full moon.”
    19 After a long time the lord of those servants cometh, and reckoneth with them. Matt 25:19
    1 Thus saith the Lord GOD; The gate of the inner court that looketh toward the east shall be shut the six working days; but on the sabbath it shall be opened, and in the day of the new moon it shall be opened. 2 And the prince shall enter by the way of the porch of that gate without, and shall stand by the post of the gate, and the priests shall prepare his burnt offering and his peace offerings,Ezek 46:1-2
    21 With persuasive words she led him astray; she seduced him with her smooth talk.
    3 For the time will come when they will not endure the sound doctrine; but, having itching ears, will heap to themselves teachers after their own lusts; 4 and will turn away their ears from the truth, and turn aside unto fables 2 Tim 4:2-4
    18 Come, let’s drink deep of love till morning; let’s enjoy ourselves with love!
    my people have forgotten me days without number. 33 How trimmest thou thy way to seek love! therefore even the wicked women hast thou taught thy ways. 34 Also in thy skirts is found the blood of the souls of the innocent poor: thou didst not find them breaking in; but it is because of all these things. 35 Yet thou saidst, I am innocent; Jer 2:32-35 (ASV)

    24 Now then, my sons, listen to me; pay attention to what I say.
    25 Do not let your heart turn to her ways or stray into her paths.
    26 Many are the victims she has brought down; her slain are a mighty throng.
    27 Her house is a highway to the grave, [d] leading down to the chambers of death.
    3 For by the wine of the wrath of her fornication all the nations are fallen; and the kings of the earth committed fornication with her, and the merchants of the earth waxed rich by the power of her wantonness. 4 And I heard another voice from heaven, saying, Come forth, my people, out of her, that ye have no fellowship with her sins, and that ye receive not of her plagues: 5 for her sins have reached even unto heaven, and God hath remembered her iniquities Rev 18:2-5 (ASV)
    MYSTERY, BABYLON THE GREAT, THE MOTHER OF THE HARLOTS AND OF THE ABOMINATIONS OF THE EARTH. 6 And I saw the woman drunken with the blood of the saints, and with the blood of the martyrs of Jesus. And when I saw her, I wondered with a great wonder. Rev 17:5-6 (ASV)

    in thy skirts is found the blood of the souls of the innocent poor: thou didst not find them breaking in; but it is because of all these things. 35 Yet thou saidst, I am innocent; Jer 2:32-35 (ASV)
    4 And my speech and my preaching were not in persuasive words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power: 1 Cor 2:4
    About 12 years ago I came to Christ through the study of apologetics (evidence of the Christian faith) After 2 years of study of history, the bible’s validity, prophecy, science other religions, etc I was convinced that the bible is the word of God, and Christ is the only way to the father. God confirmed his word to me with many signs and wonders. Two years ago God began to have me study the evidence of the end times. After two years of study I have been completely convinced that these are the end times, by signs, prophecy, world events, science, and history (what has been done shall be done) we can tell were we are in the course of events by what God has done before to bring an end of an age.
    3 let no man beguile you in any wise: for it will not be, except the falling away come first, 2 Thess 2:3

    The “church” has fallen away from the gospel that was once delivered to the saints and has leavened it to the point where it has no power but to deceive and lead astray.

    There is overwhelming evidence of these things for those who would seek and desire truth. Those who do seek the truth will find a much needed refuge in Christ, and the true gospel that was once delivered to the saints. There are many voices crying out in the wilderness preaching the true gospel at this time, here is one such site. http://www.unleavenedbreadministries.org/

    Be blessed

    Like

    • 13 July, 2010 13:55

      Thanks Paul! I loved this and agree too – I always like to leave things for those who can say it best!
      Praying for ya’ and family… i would like to add U.L.B.M. to tha’ blog roll…?
      Cheers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

